Round 15 - Day 1

Greg Mail becomes First Grade’s leading run scorer

27 February 2012

Greg Mail 
Former NSW SpeedBlitz Blues batsman, Greg Mail, has become the leading First Grade run scorer in the 119 year history of Sydney Grade cricket, surpassing the mark set by former team mate Greg Hayne.
Mail began the weekend needing 55 runs to pass Hayne’s career tally of 12,354. He knocked off 42 of those runs during Day One of Sydney University’s Two-Day fixture against one of his former clubs, Sydney, on Saturday, before making the record his own with 67 in his side’s First Grade Limited Overs Semi Final loss to Fairfield-Liverpool, taking his First Grade career run tally to 12,409.
Mail, who topped the Fifth Grade averages as a 15-year-old back in 1993-94, has represented four teams in First Grade: Parramatta (1995/96), Hawkesbury (1996/97 -1998/99), Balmain/UTS Balmain, now the Sydney Cricket Club (1999/2000 – 2003/04) and Sydney University (2004/05 – present).
He was team mates with Greg Hayne at Sydney from 1999 – 2004. The majority of his runs have been made for Sydney University (7,414) followed by UTS Balmain (2,837), Hawkesbury (1,924) and Parramatta (234).
Mail also shares the record of most First Grade centuries (36) with Victor Trumper and Warren Bardsley.
Unfortunately, Mail’s efforts with the bat were not enough to see his Sydney University side across the line against Fairfield-Liverpool in their Semi Final of the First Grade Limited Overs Cup on Sunday (February 26).
Fairfield-Liverpool won the toss and elected to bowl first, restricting Sydney University to 9-174 from their 50 overs with Mail top scoring with 67. Fairfield-Liverpool reached the victory target one ball into the 49th over, with Ben Rohrer their best with 72.
Randwick Petersham emerged victorious in the other Semi Final by knocking off University of NSW. Batting first, Randwick Petersham hit 8-297 with Usman Khawaja top scoring with 58. Allrounder, Scott Coyte, also made 54 while fast bowler Burt Cockley hit 51 batting at number nine!
They then bowled out University of NSW for just 129 in 33 overs, with Jake Wilson taking 4-20 from 10 overs.
As the higher ranked side going into the Semis, Randwick Petersham will now host Fairfield-Liverpool in the Final on March 4 at Coogee Oval.
Day One of Round 14 Belvidere Cup matches were also played on Saturday (February 25) with four bowlers taking six wickets in an innings.
They were Mitchell Starc (Western Suburbs, 6/53), Shane Mott (Hawkesbury, 6/37), Trent Copeland (St George, 6/46) and Ian Moran (Sydney University, 6/17).

Last updated: Monday February 27, 2012 12:58PM

Author: Roy Formica